Greetings Everyone!

CastleMordrigault2

This is the first post of my new blog, Castle Mordrigault! I’m starting it for many reasons, which I will list below.

  1. I want to get myself into the habit of writing regularly, at least once a week.
  2. I’m making slow forays into the world of freelance writing, and a blog is the perfect place to share, and show off my work.
  3. I have other hobbies and interests beyond writing, and I want to share my thoughts on them as well. In no particular order of importance they are: games of all sorts, education (early childhood), politics, history, genre fiction, theater. I’m sure there are many others I’m forgetting.
  4. Sometimes I’m probably just going to treat this blog like a diary. I work with kids, and they tend to produce situations that are (at least to me) funny and often very compelling.

I chose WordPress for ease of use, and because I want to share the work that I have done, and hopefully will do. If you’re an educator working in K-6, I have a number of games, plays, and lesson plans I’ve been working on over the years that I want to share on this blog. Hopefully you’ll like them, and find them useful!

A little about myself. My name is Niall Sullivan. I live in lovely Northampton. Massachusetts, and I work in Amherst as an after-school coordinator, summer camp counselor, substitute teacher, and part-(part) time paraprofessional educator. I like working with kids, they’re often hilarious, and always interesting people to be around. The work I do with my kids depends on the context. If it’s an after-school or summer camp setting, I’m usually doing theater/creative drama, or arts and crafts. Otherwise I’m working under the watchful eyes of the Massachusetts public school system.

In my spare time, I write, I read interesting things, and I play a lot of games. I used to be an actor (as if you ever stop being one), and that’s another hobby I want to get back into. As far as freelance writing goes, I wrote up a rather large manuscript for use in a role-playing game (the Pathfinder RPG). This was a few years ago, and it sadly never got published, but it was a good learning experience, and it showed me that I can accomplish projects of that scale. My hope is to pick up other commissions with different gaming companies. I also have ambitions to write a novel for children/young adults. That project is still very much in the planning/dreaming stage, but I’ll be sure to keep you posted.

Finally, I feel that I should explain my choice of title for the blog, “Castle Mordrigault.” The Castle is a place that tends to turn up a lot in my fiction, I’ve been using it for years. It usually takes the form of a dark, crumbling ruin, with a massive tree growing from the center. It has served a lot of purposes in many of the different stories I’ve written. It’s a place for beginnings, endings, and discovering truths about yourself. Those are all ideas that are relevant to the blog, and so it seemed a good fit.

That’s all, thanks for checking out my blog, and see you next time!

Leave a Reply

